Remotely Attend Automattic’s Free Conference on Design and Exclusion - April 21st! | AWESEM

The WordPress community is widespread throughout the globe so it’s impossible to arrange a physical event that’s properly represented by the international community, which is why Automattic are starting to run more and more remote events that can be freely attended by anybody in the world.

The next event is called Design and Exclusion and is taking place on Friday April 21st, so add it to your calendar now so you don’t miss out!

The event is being run by design and technology experts who, along with attendees, will be looking at the ways technology and digital spaces exclude people, and putting forward ideas for solutions.

A post on the Design and Exclusion site explains in more detail:

We tend to think of the digital products and services we build as tools that promote equality and access. Yet we often create inhospitable, uncomfortable, and non-inclusive spaces despite our best intentions, and despite design’s overarching goal to foster inclusion.

Exclusion can be driven by conscious hatred. But we sometimes also fuel it with our own ignorance. Designers may not be able to address the former, but the latter opens up multiple directions for change.

The event kicks off at 5pm BST (9am PT / 12pm ET / 4pm UTC) on April 21st and is scheduled to run until 9pm BST (1pm PT / 4pm ET / 8pm UTC). A full schedule is available on the Design and Exclusion site but highlights include a panel on engaging online and how to ask better questions, as well as a live Q&A with John Maeda.

If you’re interested in the outcome of the conference but aren’t able to attend on the day, keep an eye on #DesignX on Twitter and Instagram, as attendees and speakers will be using the hashtag to share highlights from the event. To attend the event just head to the Design and Exclusion site for the starting time on April 21st and you’ll be good to go.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Comment form

All fields marked (*) are required

Telephone

+44 (0) 20 7193 1411

Address

Portland House
Bressenden Place
London, SW1E 5RS, UK

Project Enquiry

Want to talk to us about a project?
Contact us here